All Collections
Back-ups, Syncing and Transfers
Back-Up
How can I back-up / restore my data?
How can I back-up / restore my data?
Advait avatar
Written by Advait
Updated over a week ago

You can always recover your data in case of a lost or broken device with Delta's backup and restore feature. There are two methods you can use to restore your portfolio. Either you can use your Delta account or the QR code method.

Please note that you will need to perform the backup process before you need to restore your data as you will need the original device.

Using your Delta account

This is the quickest and easiest way to recover access to your portfolio. If you previously logged into your Delta account on your old device, all you need to do is log into Delta on the new device. You can learn more about how to do this here.


To generate a recovery code:

Alternatively if you prefer to not use a Delta account, you can use a QR code to back up and recover your portfolio. Please keep this safe as you will need it when you come to recover your data.

  1. On the device with your data, go into Settings -> Devices & Data -> Generate recovery code. This will create a dynamic recovery QR code, which does not expire.

  2. Take a screenshot of this code and store it somewhere safe.

  3. Note that this will make a previously saved code invalid and unusable.

Note: This is NOT a snapshot of your data. The 'back-up' code created is dynamic i.e. it will always restore to the last known state. Think of it like a key to your data. Therefore you cannot, for example, delete some transactions and then recover them from a code.

To restore from your recovery code:

  1. Go into Settings -> Devices & Data -> Restore from recovery code.

  2. Scan the recovery code using the camera and confirm.

Be aware that all the data from the device that you generated the backup code with (and all devices synced to this device) will be deleted. You will be able to sync to these devices again in the future if needed by following this guide here. However, if you already have access to these devices, you can sync to them again using the guide linked above, and you can skip using this recovery method.

PRO TIP: You will not be able to screenshot the recovery code if you have a passcode enabled on the app for security reasons. You can remove the passcode, take the screenshot and re-add the passcode. To do this, go into Settings -> Security.

Did this answer your question?